20 يونيو 1861 مؤقت مستقل / الكونفدرالية شرق تينيسي الحرب الأهلية
لوت #: 71309

Auction
سعر المزاد الافتتاحي: $499.00
اغلق المزاد على نسبة الثلاثاء، 16 نيسان/أبريل 2019 20:00 يرجى تتسجيل الدخول إذا كنت الفائز
تتبع البند؟
وصف
مؤقت مستقل / الكونفدرالية تينيسي عصر البريد الإلكتروني: stampless "MONTVALE تنيسي 20 يونيو 1861" مخطوطة بتاريخ غطاء ل"هون هويل كوب، ريتشموند بولاية فرجينيا."، مع تدوين مخطوطة في أعلى اليمين "بالشلل الرعاش 5 سنت". التاريخ البريدي المثير للاهتمام: قامت الكونفدرالية بتعليق خدمة البريد الفيدرالي داخل حدودها اعتبارًا من 1 يونيو - ولكن ليس في تينيسي ، التي لم تكن حكومتها قد أصدرت بعد قانون الانفصال. تم إصدار المرسوم في 8 يونيو ، والذي حول الدولة في البداية إلى دولة مستقلة : على الرغم من أن ولاية تينيسي فقط أصبحت رسميًا فقط جزءًا من الكونفدرالية في 2 يوليو ، وبالفعل في 10 يونيو ، علّق مدير مكتب البريد الكونفدرالي رسميًا عمليات البريد الأمريكي في الوسط والغرب المناطق في الولاية - ولكن ليس في الشرق ، حيث تقع المنطقة الصغيرة من MONTVALE ، التي عارضت الانفصال .

ليست مسألة تافهة: سوف تينيسي توفير المزيد من القوات للاتحاد أكثر من كل دولة كونفدرالية أخرى ، مجتمعة . في 17 يونيو ، سيطر الكونفدرالية بالكامل على خدمة البريد في الولاية بأكملها ، وانضمت تينيسي رسمياً إلى الكونفدرالية في 2 يوليو .

خلال الفترة من 1 يونيو و 2 يوليو ، كانت الخدمة البريدية المحلية تعمل وفقًا للإجراءات المتنوعة والمتعارضة في كثير من الأحيان. هنا تم تمييز هذا الغطاء وفقًا لمعدل البريد الكونفدرالي الذي تم إنشاؤه حديثًا للرسائل التي كان تسليمها أقل من 500 ميل: الطوابع البريدية وفقًا لنظام / سلطة قانونية لم تعتمدها الدولة المستقلة قانونيًا بعد . من 1 يونيو إلى 2 يوليو لا توجد حالات معروفة من طوابع بريد الولايات المتحدة المستخدمة على بريد تينيسي ، ومن هنا جاءت المخطوطة بصراحة . من المثير للاهتمام بالنسبة للبريد من هذه المنطقة الشرقية ، كان المرسل إليه ، هاول كوب ، أحد مؤسسي الكونفدرالية وعمل كرئيس لمؤتمره المؤقت . تعتبر CSA Catalog هذه الرسالة المستقلة لـ Tennessee State .

بحث الكلمات

الكونفدرالية الأمريكية, طائفية - مراسلات, Richmond, Richmond, الحرب الأهلية الأمريكية 1861-65, الطوابع - الإجراءات البريدية / الغرامات / الضرائب غير العادية, القرن ال 19, طوابع - أقرب / آخر ، الأول / الأخير & إثبات التواريخ أو الأماكن, الطوابع - البريد المتعدد للبريد / الفترة, الطوابعية - عناوين / أشخاص مهمين, الطوابعية - كميات كبيرة وعلامات بريدية, الطوابعية - أسعار / فترات هامة, الطوابعية - الطريق الهامة, الطمع - الصغيرة المحلية, الطمع - بريد التجاعيد, السبائك - الأصل أو الوجهة أو رابط البريد غير المعتاد, Montvale Springs

20 June 1861 Interim Independent/Confederate East Tennessee Civil War mail
Lot #: 71309

Auction
Opening Bid price: $499.00
The auction closed on Tuesday, 16 April 2019 20:00 Please login if you are the lot winner
Track this lot?
Description
Interim Independent / Confederate Tennessee era mail: stampless "MONTVALE Tenn 20th June 1861" manuscript dated cover to "Hon. Howell Cobb, RICHMOND, Virginia", with manuscript notation at top right "Pd 5 Cts". Interesting postal history: the Confederacy suspended Federal mail service within its borders as of 1 June - but not in Tennessee, whose government had not yet passed an Ordinance of Secession. The Ordinance was passed on 8 June, which initially turned the state into an independent state: although Tennessee only officially became a part of the Confederacy on 2 July, already on June 10th the Confederate postmaster general formally suspended US mail operations in the middle and western zones of the state - but not in the east, where the small locale of MONTVALE is located, which opposed secession.

Not a trivial matter: Tennessee would furnish more troops for the Union than every other Confederate state, combined. On 17 June the Confederacy took full control of the mail service in the whole state, and Tennessee formally joined the Confederacy on 2 July.

During the period of 1 June and 2 July the local postal service operated according to various and oftentimes contradictory procedures. Here this cover was postmarked per the newly instituted Confederate postage rate for letters whose delivery was under 500 miles: postage according to a system/legal authority not yet legally adopted by the independent state. From 1 June to 2 July there are no known instances of US postage stamps used on Tennessee mail, hence the manuscript franking as her. Intriguingly for mail from this Eastern zone, the addressee, Howell Cobb, was one of the founders of the Confederacy and served as the President of its Provisional Congress. The CSA Catalogue considers this Independent Tennessee State mail.


Product Tags: Confederate States of American Philately - Postal Covers, American Civil War - Confederate States of America and Postal History from Confederate States of America and from 1861-65 American Civil War, 19th Century which are Philately - Stampless Mail, Philately - significant cachets & postal markings, Philately - Earliest/Latest, First/Last & Proving dates or places, Philately - unusual postal procedures/fines/taxes, Philately - Small Locales, Philately - Significant Rates/Periods, Philately - Significant Route, Philately - Significant Addresses/Persons, Philately - Unusual Origin, Destination or Postal Link, Philately - Multiple Postal Authority/Period mail, Object Related Specifically to a Personality or Key Event,